miracles

I’ve been delaying this post cos there’s so much to say about tramp comps but I don’t know how to express it…

The whole thing felt really unreal- before our turn we were just slacking around everywhere and I think overall it felt less tense than previous years (probably cos of the guys), we were still taking our time to warm up/ take photos outside and then suddenly it was our turn, our practice round went pretty well and after that it was the actual thing already!! I was a bit worried cos I semi-sprained my ankle from shi chang di but luckilyy it was okay! I didn’t try to jump very high lah but ya I think it was one of the nicest routines I’ve ever done :D

I got 33.9 which I didn’t think was that great cos kern choong’s benchmark for good routines is 8 hahaha but yala almostt 34. But everyone else didn’t do as well as they could have :(( saddest thing about tramp comps is how everything comes down to that one routine, if for whatever reason you didn’t manage to perform your best then there’s no second chance. Especially with dive which is so unpredictable :S and sigh amanda and yiyin’s routines were v nice all the way till dive so superr wasted bleurgh. Tiff and nicole completed but they’re definitely capable of doing nicer routines so DD: after we went up everyone was emoing and uhh aiya nothing I said/did would help anyway so I went over to dawn + the rhy gymmers where the mood was considerably happier. I think yishan was asking about the rest of the trampers then dawn summarized our batch’s comps: “aiya it’s like that every comps, everyone will be crying and emoing except siyan who’s just like ‘heh heh'” LOL.

Alternated between watching our guys and hwa chong girls, the guys didn’t do as well as they could have either especially reudi who got 4th :(( but as the girls one progressed I was amused cos like my chances of getting indiv increased with each person who got lower than me hahaha. And ya I actually got indiv silver LOL in benny’s words, “guess miracles really can happen” though I was happier about my doing a good routine than getting indiv, honestly I only got it because enough other people screwed up lah so it isn’t a particularly desirable miracle… I was telling benny then he was like “aiya just be content, your records wont say “2nd (cos everyone else screwed up)”” lolol but like if you win you wanna win knowing that everyone did their best and your best was better than the rests’ (rhymes!), not because you did relatively okay and the rest screwed up. But yeah I also know that if everyone else had done their best routines I wouldn’t stand a chance haha sigh it sucks when your happiness is in the midst of other people’s sadness and urgh idk how to explain this…

I’m still v proud of my silver though :DD oh on that day itself I was in school early and met benji, who told me “if you don’t win anything don’t come back ah”, then I said “you don’t get A for chem don’t talk to me ah” and I actually won something so HA if he doesn’t get A for chem….. LOL

And I had 2 outside supporters too x) my dad who came, watched me jump then quietly disappeared and sean whose surprise was spoiled by benny and who got lost otw to bishan sports hall then sat so high up I couldn’t find him then stood outside doing his vectors hahahaha. But ya thankss for coming :’)

After prize presentation was the yearly school song and unite with both rj and rg, then a crazy long time spent taking photos haha and after that we went for team dinner at swensens!! I only paid $10 for a main plus shared icecream hehe super worth it :D and we had strange conversations like amanda asking about people’s best friends- “huh how can you and siyan be bffs?!?!? siyan is so nice!!!” HAHAHAHAHA

3 thoughts on “miracles

  1. Kern Choong April 19, 2014 / 2:23 pm

    Hahahahahaha congrats on your indiv second!

    You know, even though 34 is a benchmark, it isn’t THE benchmark. I know it sounds very cliche, but what’s important isn’t how good you are. What matters is how much effort you put into improving, into being consistent, and how much you want what you’re going for. If at the end of the day, you went up on that tramp and managed a 29 but know that you did all that you could, you should still be proud of what you’ve achieved (yes, even if you screwed up!). The 34 doesn’t matter – it’s just a number. What you’ve learnt and taken away from the training process is the most important.

    I know I’m not often the most supportive of seniors, and that sometimes I push a little too hard at certain points. My working style is less encouraging and more doing :/ and it’s something I have to learn from too. Hahaha. So I suppose I’m apologizing for the points where I pressed to hard and/or got un-understandably frustrated (I remember that one time… hahaha xD). But if there’s any doubt in your mind as to why I did what I did, this is the reason:

    I push because I know you guys want to do well, and I push because I KNOW you guys can do it. I think you’ve all probably noticed that I treat you guys totally differently from the way I treated the juniors/new guys. That’s cause y’all have that drive, that mental maturity, that personal development that they don’t have yet. You all have those qualities in you that make you all potential champions in your own right. Which is why 34 was your benchmark, not 32, 33, 35, 36 or anywhere else. It isn’t MY benchmark for good routines. Its something for you and the team to aim for, to strive for, to pull yourselves towards.

    Simply put, whatever your final score was, you alone know the hard work that you’ve been putting in, how hard it was to get to where you are, and how you managed to overcome whatever difficulties you faced. And that is why you should be proud of whatever you got. Not because of whatever numbers appeared on the scoreboard, but because what you’ve done along the way is what makes you able to look back on this experience and realize that you’ve grown as a person. Or be able to look at your reflection in the eye. And I think you’ll be able to do that :)

    • tsy April 20, 2014 / 3:02 pm

      how did you find my blog?!?!

      • Kern Choong April 23, 2014 / 2:50 am

        I’ve been stalking you all this while. >:D

        HAHAHA of course not. But anything on the internet can be found *shrugs*

Leave a Reply

